Reload page - Ensure CSS is enabled too!

Moving Shadow Vinyl Record spinning!


Moving Shadow is one of the founding labels of the original Breakbeat / Jungle and Drum & Bass scene. Since its inception in 1990, it has enjoyed a reputation for innovation, diversity, and quality, through over 200 single and 30 full-length album releases.

The label’s eclectic offerings cover a wide selection of styles; from rave, jungle / breaks, and smooth jazzy vibes through to more abrasive and hard stepping Drum & Bass. Each sub-genre has seen Moving Shadow release pivotal, defining moments in the history of the scene, all to the delight of a versed and dedicated fan base. Through compilation albums, E.P.’s, and singles, Moving Shadow have also thrown the spotlight on regional styles from across the UK as well as international contributions from around the world.

Notable artists to have cut their teeth on Moving Shadow releases include Goldie, Omni Trio, E-Z Rollers, Aquasky, Dom & Roland, 2 Bad Mice, Foul Play, Calyx, Noisia, Future Prophecies and Corrupt Souls, to name but a few. Goldie’s first album, Timeless, was co-written, engineered, and recorded at Moving Shadow by label boss Rob Playford; eventually to become one of the best-selling drum and bass albums of all time.

The label’s promotional efforts have also integrated the world of Drum & Bass into feature films, TV shows, video games, and advertising markets; increasing awareness of both the label and its artists far beyond their initial audiences.

Moving Shadow’s current focus is on the golden era of the scene, promotion of their existing extensive back catalogue, and maintenance of the label’s history and artist repertoire via the website and associated social channels.